Meet Collin!

campus-ambassador-photos-098

Major: Psychology (Pre-Medicine)
Hometown: Peculiar, MO
What are your career goals?
Currently, I want to become a psychiatrist and to specialize in PTSD. I plan on going through the military to pay for medical school, which will consist of working with military personnel. After, I plan on working with the VA to work with veterans. Other options are: neurology, hospital psychiatrist, and trauma/ER surgeon.

Why did you choose UMKC?
I chose UMKC because my Associates of Arts degree transferred directly into UMKC’s bachelor’s degree. Also, UMKC is close, affordable, medium sized, and located perfectly for a variety of opportunities.
What are you involved with on campus?
I work with the Propel program, Honors College, am a research volunteer for the psychology department, and a Campus Ambassador!!


What’s your favorite thing about UMKC?

My favorite thing about UMKC is the professors/faculty. Every one of my professors has made it known since the first day of class that they are here for my success. Office hours, SI, emails, questions in class­, Blackboard posts, announcements, and adjusting to the class- all my professors try their hardest and make sure each student has the means to succeed. Students asking question­s becomes routine and is always answered in class or outside on Blackboard. They announce resources time and time again during class for those who are struggling or need more practice. Professors also make getting involved on campus a priority with Fraternity and Sorority Affairs and other organizations’ events.
When I need help the first place I go is to the professor, because I know they will either answer my questions directly or provide more resources to do so. Also, the faculty around the entire campus are chosen for their job for a big reason: they are great at what they do and love it.

What’s your favorite thing about KC?
I lived in the Kansas City area for the first part of my life. When I began my semester at UMKC I realized there are events all over campus, but sometimes those events don’t interest me. KC has TONS of other things to do. My favorite part of KC are all the activities in one area. Whether that be restaurants, entertainment, music, or exercise. KC has something to offer for anyone.

May you share a fun fact with us?
I have been skydiving three times and plan for many more! I love adrenaline and I plan on completing a large bucket list including, but not limited to: bungie jumping, cage diving with sharks, scuba diving with whales, base jumping, wing suits, climbing Mount Everest, and snorkeling in the Great Barrier Reef.
What is your ultimate comfort meal or food?
ANYTHING BREAKFAST. I wake up thinking about breakfast. I fall asleep thinking about breakfast.

So you’ve been doing this college thing for a while now. Any advice for students?

  1. The syllabus is your best friend. It is printed on gold, should be kept handy, and looked at frequently.
  2. Make friends with your professors. Introduce yourself and if you need help or have questions ask.
  3. When in doubt, ASK. ALWAYS ask questions no matter what it is.
    “I’d rather look silly/dumb/ignorant/etc. NOW, rather than on the test, evaluation, or presentation.” – Collin Vargas, 2016
  4. Don’t freak out! Easier said than done. Use the resources on campus (HINT: SI, MAST tutoring, Writing studio, Career services, TAs, etc.).
  5. Always remember to bring headphones.
Leave a Reply

